Skip to Content

College Life

What is the U-Pass Program?

The Universal College Student Transit Pass ( U-Pass ) provides college students of participating schools with greater fare discounts and an expedited activation process that is administered directly on campus.  It is good for unlimited rides on all Metro services in L.A. County, including Metro Rail, Metro Rapid and Express buses, and local buses!

  • Rates will vary depending on each college's fare subsidy program and will either match the Metro College/Vocational Reduced Fare TAP card rate or provide even greater savings.
  • U-Pass TAP sticker is applied to the back of a student's ID
  • Schools are only billed for actual boardings @ $0.75/boarding
  • U-Pass FAQs

How you can bring U-Pass to your school:

Participating Schools in the U-Pass Program:

(Please note that this program is growing. You are encouraged to check back often for the latest information.)

California Institute of Technology (Caltech)
Todd Swart
515 S Wilson Ave.  Pasadena, CA,  91125
626. 395. 5389
todd.swart@caltech.edu
http://www.parking.caltech.edu/Transportation/Transit

Cal State Long Beach (CSLB)
Parking Transportation Services
1250 Bellflower Blvd.  Long Beach, CA 90840
562.985.5018
ride@csulb.edu
http://www.csulb.edu/parking-and-transportation-services/article/la-metro-u-pass-csulb-student-discount

Cal State LA (CSLA)
Betina Cervantes
5151 State University Drive, Los Angeles, CA 90032
323.343.5277
bcervantes@calstatela.edu
http://www.calstatela.edu/parking/cal-state-la-parking-transportation

Cal State Northridge (CSUN)
John Valadez
18111 Nordhoff Street, Northridge, CA, 91330
818.677.2488
john.e.valadez@csun.edu
https://www.csun.edu/as/student-transportation-guide/u-pass


City of Paramount (c/o Long Beach Transit)
Ashley Liang
1963 E Anaheim St. Long Beach, CA 90803
(562) 599-8539
aliang@lbtransit.com


Compton Community College
LaVetta Johnson
1111 E. Artesia Blvd. Compton, CA 90221
310.900.1600 ext. 2105
ljohnson@compton.edu
http://www.compton.edu/campusinformation/metroupass.aspx

El Camino Community College
Student Development Office
16007 Crenshaw Blvd., Torrance, CA 90506
310.660.3593 ext. 3500
stdevoffice@elcamino.edu
http://www.elcamino.edu/about/visit/metroupass.aspx

LA Promise Fund
Claudia Keller
202 W. 1st Street # Suite 160, Los Angeles CA 90012
213.745.4328
claudiak@lapromisefund.org


Long Beach Job Corp - Career Transition Department
Peter Young
1903 Santa Fe Avenue, Long Beach, CA  90810
(562) 491-5180
Young.Peter@jobcorps.org
https://longbeach.jobcorps.gov/our-program


Los Angeles Job Corp - Career Transition Department
Christine Vasquez
1020 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90015
(213) 743-5111
Vasquez.Christine@jobcorps.org
https://losangeles.jobcorps.gov/


Los Angeles Community College
Christi A O'Connor
755 N New Hampshire, Los Angeles, Ca 90029
323.953.4000 ext. 2099
oconnoca@lacitycollege.edu
https://www.lacitycollege.edu/About-LACC/Campus-Maps-Parking/Commuting-Alternatives


Los Angeles Community College District (LACCD)
(College Promise Only)
Joanna Zimring Towne
770 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90017
(213) 891-2175
zimrinjb@email.laccd.edu


Los Angeles Job Corp - Transportation Services Department
Angel Gonzalez
1020 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90015
(213) 741-5350
Gonzalez.Angel@jobcorps.org
https://losangeles.jobcorps.gov/


Los Angeles Mission College
Zoila Rodriquez-Doucette
13356 Eldridge Ave. Sylmar CA 91342
818.364.7767
RodrigZ@laccd.edu
http://www.lamission.edu/UPass/Home.aspx


Los Angeles Pierce College
Candy Van
6203  Winnetka Ave, Woodland Hills, CA 91371
818.710.2854
vanca@piercecollege.edu
https://www.lacitycollege.edu/About-LACC/Campus-Maps-Parking/Commuting-Alternatives


Los Angeles Trade Technical College
Ramona Hernandez
1937 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA,  90015
213.763.7212
hernanrg@lattc.edu
http://www.lattc.edu/blog/announcements/august-2019/get-around-for-less-with-lattc-u-pass


Loyola Marymount University (LMU)
Laura Jimenez
1 LMU Drive Suite 1766,  Los Angeles CA 90045
310.338.1681
parking@lmu.edu
https://admin.lmu.edu/parking/services/metrou-passpilotprogram


Manual Arts High School
Maribel De Anda
4131 Vermont Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90037
562.665.9472
maribeld@lapromisefund.org


Occidental College
Linda Schraeder
1600 Campus Road M-39, Los Angeles CA 90041
323.259.2561
schraeder@oxy.edu
https://www.oxy.edu/about-oxy/sustainability/transportation


Pasadena City College (PCC)
Rebecca Cobb
1580 E. Colorado Blvd, Pasadena, CA  91106
626.585.7798
rcobb1@pasadena.edu
https://pasadena.edu/campus-life/student-life/u-pass.php


Rio Hondo College
Russell Castaneda-Calleros
3600 Workman Mill Rd, Whittier, CA 90601
562.463.7268
rcastaneda-calleros@riohondo.edu
https://www.riohondo.edu/gcr/go-rio-news


UCLA
UCLA Transportation
555 Westwood Plaza, Los Angeles, CA 90095
310.794.7433
transportation@ts.ucla.edu
https://www.transportation.ucla.edu/getting-to-ucla/public-transit


USC Transportation
Maira Sanchez
620 USC McCarthy Way, Los Angeles, CA 90089
213.740.85.289
mezaolve@usc.edu
https://transnet.usc.edu/index.php/graduate-student-u-pass/

Transit Partners

Long Beach Transit Pasadena Transit
Big Blue Bus GTrans

Additional information on the U-Pass Program: