Skip to Content
Search
None

About Metro

Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority (Metro) is unique among the nation’s transportation agencies. It serves as transportation planner and coordinator, designer, builder and operator for one of the country’s largest, most populous counties. More than 9.6 million people – nearly one-third of California’s residents – live, work, and play within its 1,433-square-mile service area.

Vision

Metro provides excellence in service and support.

Mission

Metro is responsible for the continuous improvement of an efficient and effective transportation system for Los Angeles County

Values

Safety: We commit to ensure that our employees, passengers and the general public’s safety is always our first consideration.

Service Excellence: We commit to provide safe, clean, reliable, on-time, courteous service for our clients and customers.

Workforce Development: We commit to make Metro a learning organization that attracts, develops, motivates and retains a world class workforce.

Fiscal Responsibility: We commit to manage every tax payer and customer-generated dollar as if it were coming from our own pocket.

Innovation and Technology: We commit to actively participate in identifying best practices for continuous improvement.

Sustainability: We commit to reduce, re-use and recycle all internal resources and reduce green house gas emissions.

Integrity: We commit to rely on the professional ethics and honesty of every Metro employee.

Teamwork: We commit to actively blend our individual talents to achieve world-class performance and service.

Core Business Goals

1. Advance safety and security for our customers, the public and Metro employees.

2. Exercise fiscal discipline to ensure financial stability.

3. Plan and deliver capital projects on time and on budget while increasing opportunities for small business development and innovation.

4. Improve the customer experience and expand access to transportation options.

5. Increase transit use and ridership.

6. Implement an industry-leading state of good repair program.

7. Invest in workforce development.

8. Promote extraordinary innovation.

For specific figures on Metro ridership, service miles and more, visit facts at a glance .



View Metro Board of Directors Meetings and Committees

Accessibility Advisory Committee
Metro's Accessibility Advisory Committee (AAC) reviews, comments and provides input on issues relating to Metro accessibility for riders with disabilities.

Advanced Transit Vehicle Consortium
The mission of the Advanced Transit Vehicle Consortium (ATVC) is to encourage the development of advanced transit vehicle technologies, particularly in areas of high capacity transit vehicles, low emission propulsion technologies and advanced composite vehicle structures.

Blue Ribbon Committee
The Blue Ribbon Committee is an initiative to develop a regional transit service concept which will serve as the blueprint for the transit system in which systems integration/coordination, service quality attractiveness, customer/employee focus, and sustainability are critical elements.

Citizens Advisory Council
The CAC shall consult, obtain and collect public input on matters of interest and concern to the community and will communicate the CAC’s recommendations with respect to such issues to Metro. Issues may also be assigned to the CAC by Metro for its review, comment and recommendation.

Independent Taxpayer Oversight Committees
The Independent Taxpayer Oversight Committees are independent committees formed to monitor and ensure that all tax measure revenue is spent for transportation purposes as specified in ordinances.

Local Service Councils
Metro’s local Service Councils advise on planning and implementation of Metro services in five geographic regions.

Metro Policy Advisory Council
The Metro Policy Advisory Council (PAC) has been established to review, comment and provide input on the draft Measure M Master Guidelines (Guidelines), the Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP), and possibly other work plans and policy areas that the Metro Board may request.

Technical Advisory Committee
The establishment of a Technical Advisory Committee is required by state law dating back to the formation of the Los Angeles County Transportation Commission, predecessor agency to Metro. Since its formal inception in 1977, the TAC has undergone periodic reviews of its membership, functions and responsibilities based upon the changing needs of this agency; however, its function remains relatively unchanged.

Transportation Business Advisory Council
Transportation Business Advisory Council (TBAC) is a group of professional business associations representing an array of industries and trades that plays an important role in advocating for small business owners to have increased access to Metro contracting opportunities.

Partner Agencies

Exposition Metro Line Construction Authority Board
The Exposition Metro Line Construction Authority is an independent transportation planning, design and construction agency created by state legislation in 2003.

Metro Gold Line Foothill Extension Construction Authority
The Metro Gold Line Foothill Extension Construction Authority is an independent transportation planning, design and construction agency created in 1998 by the California State Legislature.

Southern California Regional Rail Authority (Metrolink)
Metrolink is governed by the Southern California Regional Rail Authority (SCRRA), a joint powers authority made up of an 11-member board representing the transportation commissions of Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino and Ventura counties. Metrolink trains operate on seven routes across a six-county, 538 route-mile network, which includes a portion of northern San Diego County.

View Metro Board of Directors Meetings and Committees


Metro’s Organizational Chart

Office of the CEO

Phillip A. Washington
Chief Executive Officer
213.922.7555 washingtonp@metro.net
Stephanie Wiggins
Deputy Chief Executive Officer
213.922.1023 wigginss@metro.net
Dan Levy
Chief Civil Rights Programs Officer
213.922.8891 levyd@metro.net
Elba Higueros
Chief Policy Officer
213.922.6820 higuerose@metro.net

Board Appointed Officers

Karen Gorman
Inspector General – Chief Ethics Officer
213.922.2900 gormank@metro.net
Michele Jackson
Board Secretary
213.922.4605 jacksonm@metro.net
Charles Safer
Assistant County Counsel
213.922.2511 saferc@metro.net

Audit

Reviews, evaluates and reports on the agency’s finances, operations and procedures.

Diana Estrada
Chief Auditor
213.922.2161 estradadt@metro.net
Amanda Hall
Senior Director – Audit
213.922.4554 hallam@metro.net

Communications

Oversees Metro's Community Relations, Customer Programs & Services, Customer Relations, Government Relations, Marketing and Public Relations.

Pauletta Tonilas
Chief Communications Officer
213.922.3777 tonilasp@metro.net
Glen Becerra
Deputy Executive Officer – Communications
213.922.5661 becerrag@metro.net
Joni Goheen
Deputy Executive Officer – Public Relations
213.922.6931 goheenj@metro.net
Michael Turner
Deputy Executive Officer – Government Relations, State
213.922.2122 turnerm@metro.net
Gail Harvey
Director – Customer Relations
213.922.7030 harveyg@metro.net
Vanessa Smith
Director – Customer Programs & Services
213.922.7009 smithv@metro.net

Congestion Reduction

Focuses on reducing traffic congestion in Los Angeles County.

Shahrzad Amiri
Executive Officer – Congestion Reduction Programs
213.922.3061 amiris@metro.net
Kenneth Coleman
Deputy Executive Officer – Congestion Reduction Programs
213.922.2951 colemank@metro.net
Kathleen McCune
Deputy Executive Officer - Congestion Reduction, Express Lanes / FSP
213.922.7241 mccunek@metro.net

Countywide Planning & Development

Administers and coordinates transportation service and infrastructure improvements throughout Los Angeles County.

Therese McMillan
Chief Planning Officer – Countywide Planning & Development
213.922.7077 mcmillant@metro.net
Calvin Hollis
Senior Executive Officer – Executive Office Strategic Initiatives & Real Property Management
213.922.7319 hollisc@metro.net
David Yale
Senior Executive Officer – Executive Office Planning/Strategic Financial Planning/Grants Management
213.922.2469 yaled@metro.net
David Mieger
Senior Executive Officer – Executive Office Transit Corridors/Systemwide Planning (Interim)
213.922.3040 miegerd@metro.net
Diego Cardoso
Executive Officer – Active Transportation & Sustainability
213.922.3076 cardosod@metro.net
Frank Flores
Executive Officer – Regional Grants Management
213.922.2456 floresfr@metro.net
Wil Ridder
Executive Officer – Strategic Financial Planning & Programming
213.922.2887 ridderw@metro.net
Velma Marshall
Deputy Executive Officer – Real Estate Management
213.922.2415 marshallv@metro.net

Finance

Administers Metro's budget and oversees the financial management of its transit-oriented operations and activities.

Nalini Ahuja
Chief Financial Officer
213.922.3088 ahujan@metro.net
Melissa Wang
Executive Officer – Finance (Budget)
213.922.6024 wangm@metro.net
Perry Blake
Executive Officer – Finance
213.922.6171 blakep@metro.net
Conan Cheung
Executive Officer – Finance
213.922.6949 cheungc@metro.net
Jesse Soto
Executive Officer – Finance (Accounting)
213.922.6861 sotoj@metro.net
David Sutton
Executive Officer – Finance (UFS/TAP)
213.922.5633 suttond@metro.net
Donna Mills
Treasurer
213.922.4047 millsd@metro.net
Christopher Gallanes
Deputy Executive Officer – Finance
213.922.4828 gallanesc@metro.net
Kelly Hines
Deputy Executive Officer – Local Programming and TAP
213.922.4569 hinesk@metro.net
Quintin Sumabat
Deputy Executive Officer – Finance
213.922.2277 sumabatq@metro.net
Anelli-Michelle  Navarro
Senior Director Countywide Planning & Development
213.922.3056 navarroa@metro.net

Human Capital & Development

Responsibilities include the oversight of collective bargaining and contract administration, as well as independent group employee relations issues.

Joanne Peterson
Chief Human Capital & Development Officer
213.922.5223 petersonjo@metro.net
Dan Dzyacky
Deputy Executive Officer – Talent Development
213.922.4145 dzyackyd@metro.net
Steven Espinoza
Deputy Executive Officer – Employee/Labor Relations
213.922.8825 espinozas@metro.net
Donald Howey
Deputy Executive Officer – Administration
213.922.8867 howeyd@metro.net
Steven Jaffe
Deputy Executive Officer – General Services
213.922.6284 jaffes@metro.net
Carmen Sison Mayor
Deputy Executive Officer – Talent Acquisition
213.922.5214 mayorc@metro.net

Information & Technology Services

Manages and maintains Metro's extensive internal and external computer and telecommunications network as well as Metro’s application portfolio.

David Edwards
Chief Information Officer
213.922.5510 edwardsda@metro.net
Joseph Giba
Executive Officer – Information Technology
213.922.3450 gibaj@metro.net
Patrick Astredo
Deputy Executive Officer – ENTRPRS Information  Management
213.922.4290 astredop@metro.net
Vincent Tee
Deputy Executive Officer – System Architecture & Technology Integration
213.922.4537 teev@metro.net
Doug Anderson
Senior Director – Information Technology
213.922.7042 andersond@metro.net
William Balter
Senior Director – Information Technology
213.922.4511 balterw@metro.net
Matt Barrett
Manager, Policy Research & Library Services, Records & Information Management
213.922.7444 barrettm@metro.net

Office of Extraordinary Innovation

Identifies, evaluates, tests and implements leading-edge ideas to improve regional mobility, from public private capital partnerships to new technologies.

Joshua Schank
Chief Innovation Officer
213.922.5533 schankj@metro.net
Nadine Lee
Deputy Executive Officer – Innovation
213.922.4656 leen@metro.net

Program Management

Provides the engineering and oversight of major construction projects, as well as improvements to Metro rail facilities.

Richard F. Clarke
Chief Program Management Officer
213.922.7557 clarker@metro.net
Bryan Pennington
Deputy Chief Program Management Officer
213.922.7449 penningtonb@metro.net
Abdollah Ansari
Senior Executive Officer – Construction & Engineering
213.922.4781 ansaria@metro.net
Brian Boudreau
Senior Executive Officer – Project Management Oversight
213.922.2474 boudreaub@metro.net
Jeanet Owens
Senior Executive Officer – Program Management/Regional Rail
213.922.6877 owensj@metro.net
Pauline Lee
Executive Officer – Program Management, Project Support & Administration
213.922.7360 leep@metro.net
Emmanuel 'Cris' Liban
Executive Officer – Program Management, Environmental Compliance/Sustainability
213.922.2471 libane@metro.net
Timothy Lindholm
Executive Officer – Program Management, Capital Projects
213.922.7297 lindholmt@metro.net
Samuel Mayman
Executive Officer – Program Management, Engineering
213.922.7289 maymans@metro.net
Rick Meade
Executive Officer – Program Management, Airport Connector & Foothill Projects
213.922.7917 meader@metro.net
Gary Baker
Deputy Executive Officer – Program Management,  Regional Connector Project
213.893.7191 bakerga@metro.net
Charles Beauvoir
Deputy Executive Officer – Program Management, Crenshaw/LAX Project
323.903.4113 beauvoirc@metro.net
Michael Ratnasingham
Deputy Executive Officer – Program Management, Systems Engineering
213.922.7523 ratnasinghamm@metro.net
Eduardo Cervantes
Senior Director – Program Management,
Construction  Management
213.922.7255 cervantese@metro.net
Camelia Davis
Senior Director – Program Management, Quality Management (Interim)
213.922.7342 davisc@metro.net

Risk, Safety & Asset Management

Protects public assets by identifying, evaluating and responding to risk exposures.

Gregory Kildare
Chief Risk – Safety & Asset Management Officer
213.922.4971 kildareg@metro.net
Vijay Khawani
Executive Officer – Corporate Safety
213.922.4035 khawaniv@metro.net
Denise Longley
Deputy Executive Officer – Strategic Development of Facilities and Operations
213.922.7294 longleyd@metro.net
Joe Mendez
Senior Director – Emergency Services & Homeland Security (Interim)
213.418.3009 mendezjo@metro.net

System Security and Law Enforcement

Oversees the activities of the Metro Transit Security officers and Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department deputies.

Alex Wiggins
Chief Systems Security & Law Enforcement Officer
213.922.4433 wigginsa@metro.net
Rivers Jacques
Director of Transit Security
213.922.3697 jacquesr@metro.net
Sandra Solis
Transit Security & Law Enforcement Performance Compliance Manager
213.922.4740 solissa@metro.net
Helen Valenzuela
Manager, Citation Enforcement
213.922.6928 valenzuelah@metro.net

Transit Operations

Provides bus and rail service throughout Los Angeles County via more than 200 bus routes and five rail lines.

James T. Gallagher
Chief Operations Officer
213.418.3108 gallagherj@metro.net
Alex DiNuzzo
Senior Executive Director – Maintenance
213.922.5860 dinuzzoa@metro.net
Jon Hillmer
Senior Executive Officer – Service Development, Scheduling & Analysis
213.922.6972 hillmerjon@metro.net
Robert Holland
Senior Executive Officer – Transportation
213.922.4438 hollandr@metro.net
Bernard Jackson
Senior Executive Officer – Rail Operations
213.418.3001 jacksonbe@metro.net
Jesus Montes
Senior Executive Officer – Vehicle Acquisition
213.922.3838 MontesJe@metro.net
Bruce Shelburne
Senior Executive Director – Rail Operations
213.922.6951 shelburneb@metro.net
Bob Spadafora
Senior Executive Officer – Rail Fleet Services
213.922.3144 spadaforab@metro.net
Diane Corral-Lopez
Executive Officer – Central Oversight & Analysis
213.922.7676 corrallopezd@metro.net
Diane Frazier
Service Operations Superintendent
213.922.1101 frazierd@metro.net
Frank Alejandro
Senior Executive Officer – Rail Maintenance & Engineering (Interim)
213.617.6231 alejandrof@metro.net

Vendor/Contract Management

Develops and maintains professional relationships with those doing business with or desiring to do business with the agency.

Debra Avila
Chief Vendor / Contract Management Officer
213.418.3051 avilad@metro.net
Miguel Cabral
Executive Officer – Diversity & Economic Opportunity
213.922.2232 cabralm@metro.net
Carolina Coppolo
Executive Officer – Vendor / Contract Management
213.922.4471 coppoloc@metro.net
Ivan Page
Executive Officer – Vendor / Contract Management
213.922.6383 pagei@metro.net
Victor Ramirez
Deputy Executive Officer – Vendor/Contract Management
213.922.1059 ramirezv@metro.net
Shalonda Baldwin
Deputy Executive Officer – Project Management
213.922.4488 baldwins@metro.net
Julie Ellis
Deputy Executive Officer –Administration
213.922.1043 ellisj@metro.net
Mayumi Lyon Ales
Deputy Executive Officer – Procurement Administration & Policy
213.922.4020 lyonm@metro.net
Donald Mendoza
Deputy Executive Officer – Logistics
213.922.5789 mendozad@metro.net
Robert New
Deputy Executive Officer – Procurement
213.922.4977 newr@metro.net

Information on Executive Compensation is also publicly available.


Share this page on
Advertisement
Close Search Window

Search metro.net, The Source, and El Pasajero