Skip to Content

U-Pass Program

U-Pass Program

Metro launched a Universal College Student Transit Pass (U-Pass) Program in 2016 to streamline the process of purchasing college student discount transit passes . This reduced-fare transit pass offers students unlimited rides on Metro’s Rail and bus lines.  The list of participating schools is constantly growing so check back often for updates.

  • California Institute of Technology (Caltech)
  • California State University, Los Angeles (Cal State LA)
  • California State University, Northridge (CSUN)
  • California State University Long Beach (CSULB)
  • Compton Community College
  • El Camino Community College
  • Los Angeles Trade Technical College (LATTC)
  • Los Angeles Community College (LACC)
  • Los Angeles Mission College
  • Los Angeles Pierce College
  • Loyola Marymount University (LMU)
  • Pasadena City College (PCC)
  • Rio Hondo College
  • University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)
  • University of Southern California (USC, Graduate Student Government)
  • City of Paramount (c/o Long Beach Transit)

Some key factors to the program include:

  • Sign up online through college website or in person on campus
  • Fee to participate is paid directly to college instead of to Metro
  • Computer chip sticker is placed directly on school ID instead of requiring separate photo TAP card
  • Pass is valid for whole semester, including breaks
  • Lower minimum units requirement allows for more part-time students to participate

Additional information on the U-Pass Program:

Administrators : If your school is interested in participating, please see the Administrator FAQ's

Students : If you’d like to help bring U-Pass to your school, fill out a short survey

Close Search Window

Search, The Source, and El Pasajero