Skip to Content


Metrolink - Southern California Regional Rail Authority (SCRRA)

The SCRRA was formed in 1991 as a joint powers authority between five counties within Southern California to provide commuter rail service on recently purchased Southern Pacific rights-of-way.  The rights of way were purchased using a combination of Proposition C,  Proposition 108, the Passenger Rail and Clean Air Bond Act passed in 1990.

The current five member agencies are: Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority (Metro), Orange County Transportation Authority, Riverside County Transportation Commission, San Bernardino Associated Governments and Ventura County Transportation Commission.

Metrolink currently operates 7 lines with 165 Weekday Trains with a total of 56 stations.  Weekday Ridership is currently at 44,706 passengers.  Metro is an active partner in Metrolink and will contribute $53 million dollars to the SCRRA's $210 million operating budget. Metro currently has four seats on the 11 member board of directors.  Additional information regarding Metrolink can be found at

Close Search Window

Search, The Source, and El Pasajero