Skip to Content


Committee Members shall be comprised of seven (7) voting members representing the following professions or areas of expertise:

  • A retired Federal or State judge
  • A professional from the field of municipal/public finance and/or budgeting with a minimum of ten (10) years of relevant experience
  • A transit professional with a minimum of ten (10) years of experience in senior-level decision making in transit operations and labor practices
  • A professional with a minimum of ten (10) years of experience in management and administration of financial policies, performance measurements, and reviews
  • A professional with demonstrated experience of ten (10) years or more in the management of large-scale construction projects
  • A licensed architect or engineer with appropriate credentials in the field of transportation project design or construction and a minimum of ten (10) years of relevant experience
  • A regional association of businesses representative with at least ten (10) years of senior-level decision making experience in the private sector

The intent is to have one member representing each of the specified areas of expertise. If, however, after a good faith effort, qualified individuals have not been identified for one (1) or more of the areas of expertise, then no more than two (2) members from one (1) or more of the remaining areas of expertise may be selected.

The members of the Committee must reside in Los Angeles County and be subject to conflict of interest provisions. No person currently serving as an elected or appointed city, county, special district, state, or federal public officeholder shall be eligible to serve as a member of the Committee.

The Committee members shall be subject to Metro’s conflict of interest policies. The members shall have no legal action pending against Metro and are prohibited from acting in any commercial activity directly or indirectly involving Metro, such as being a consultant to Metro or to any party with pending legal actions against Metro during their tenure. Committee members shall not have direct commercial interest or employment with any public or private entity, which receives sales tax funds authorized by the Ordinance.

Each member of the Committee shall serve for a term of five (5) years, and until a successor is appointed, except that initial appointments may be staggered with terms of three (3) years. A Committee member may be removed at any time by the appointing authority. Term limits for Committee members will be staggered to prevent significant turnover at any one time. There is no limit as to the number of terms that a Committee member may serve. Members will be compensated through a stipend and they may choose to waive.

Any member may, at any time, resign from the Committee upon written notice delivered to the Metro Board. Acceptance of any public office, the filing of intent to seek public office, including a filing under California Government Code Section 85200, or change of residence to outside the County shall constitute a Member’s automatic resignation.