Skip to Content

CLC Membership Roster & Bios

Russell Brown

Executive Committee Chair
2nd St/Broadway Station Area Committee Co-chair

Russell Brown has been a Los Angeles resident for over 35 years and has led business and community councils for over 15 years. Driven by his passion for improving urban-life, he’s applied his interest in development, community planning and architectural design to his work with various, public-serving boards. He has served in the Downtown Streetcar Committee, the Pershing Square Park Advisory Board and the Friends of the Park 101. He was president on the Downtown Los Angeles Neighborhood Council, as well as chairman for the Council’s Planning Committee Transportation and Public Safety Committee.

Chris Aihara

Chris Aihara 1st St/Central Av Station Area Committee Co-chair
Little Tokyo/Arts District

Chris Aihara has worked more than 25 years in the non-profit sector, focusing on culturally specific work in the Japanese American community, promoting arts/culture, and presentation of Japanese culture to American audiences. She is an advocate for ethnic communities as she believes that they are the nurturers and sustainers of cultural values, history and traditions. She currently serves as chair of the Little Tokyo Community Council Transit Committee, working to ensure that the Regional Connector Transit Project will benefit rather than negatively impact the Little Tokyo community.

Jay Chen

Jay Chen 1st St/Central Av Station Area Committee Co-chair
Little Tokyo/Arts District

Jay Chen is a stakeholder in the Arts District and Little Tokyo community. A real estate investment professional, he manages a diverse portfolio of residential and commercial properties in Los Angeles County, serves as a school board member in Hacienda La Puente Unified School District, and is an officer in the U.S. Navy Reserves. In 2014 he was named a Marshall Memorial Fellow by the German Marshall Fund of the United States. He views transportation systems as critical to serving local economies and the quality of life in urban environments.

Shiraz Tangri

Shiraz Tangri 2nd St/Broadway Station Area Committee Co-chair
Shiraz Tangri is an attorney in the Land Use, Environmental, and Transportation and Infrastructure Practice Groups of Meyers Nave. He has a breadth of knowledge in all aspects of land use entitlements, litigation, and compliance as an expert in the Environmental Quality and National Environmental Policy Acts. In 2014, he was named one of the Daily Journal’s “Top 50 Development Lawyers.” He was also named in Super Lawyers Magazine, as a So. California Super Lawyer for 2013 and 2014, and Los Angeles Business Journal’s “Who’s Who in L.A. Real Estate Law” list in 2013.

Dave Thompson

Dave Thompson 2nd Pl/Hope St Station Area Committee Co-chair
Dave Thompson is the General Manager at the Bank of America Plaza for Brookfield Office Properties. He oversees property management and operations of a 1.4 million square foot Class A high-rise office building, where he serves major tenants to provide high quality customer service and ensure customer satisfaction. He has served on several committees for Building Owners and Managers Association (BOMA) of Greater Los Angeles since 1990. His interest in transit was prompted by the construction of the original Red line tunnels as well as the Pershing Square and 7th Street Metro Center stations.

Sarah Stifler

Sarah Stifler 2nd Pl/Hope St Station Area Committee Co-chair
Sarah Stifler is the Chief Communications Officer at the Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA). She has been a marketing and public relations executive, program developer, and membership manager with over 10 years of experience in institutional branding and marketing/PR, audience building, strategic planning, cultural programming, project management, and special events. She was previously the Director of Marketing and Communications at the Hammer Museum. Ms. Stifler is currently in charge of expanding the MOCA’s presence locally, nationally, and internationally.

Leia Jensen

Leia Jensen Flower St/Financial District Area Committee Co-chair
Leia Jensen is the general property manager at the West Bank Tower, for Hines, a real-estate development and management company. Ms. Jensen has managed numerous buildings in the Financial District, including Cushman & Wakefield as well as Maguire Properties. She has been involved in downtown leadership, as chair for The Outstanding Building of the Year (TOBY) and for the Awards of Excellence Committees. In 2012, she was the recipient of the BOMA Greater Los Angeles Award of Excellence for “Property Manager of the Year.” She remains passionate about the advent of change and opportunities for downtown stakeholders.

John Howland

John Howland Flower St/Financial District Area Committee Co-chair
John Howland is the Director of Government Relations at Central City Association (CCA) of Los Angeles. He leads CCA's efforts in transportation, infrastructure, energy, entertainment, public safety, finance, and political action. He plays an active role in the as a board member of the Boys & Girls Clubs of So. Bay - serving over 2,500 kids and 400 parents each year and on the board of the International Trade Education Programs, Inc., which introduces high school students to careers in international trade, transportation and logistics.

Share this page on
Close Search Window

Search, The Source, and El Pasajero