Skip to Content

Citizens Advisory Council

Background Information:

On May 19, 1992 the governor signed AB 152 (Katz) into law. This act merged the Los Angeles County Transportation Commission and the Southern California Rapid Transit District and created Metro (Metro).

As part of AB 152, the MTA was to establish a Citizens’ Advisory Council whose “membership shall reflect a broad spectrum of interest and all geographic areas of the County”.


The CAC shall consult, obtain and collect public input on matters of interest and concern to the community and will communicate the CAC’s recommendations with respect to such issues to Metro. Issues may also be assigned to the CAC by Metro for its review, comment and recommendation.

The Communications Department serves as support staff to the CAC.

Appointments to the Citizens’ Advisory Council:*

Each member of the Metro Board of Directors shall nominate four public members to the CAC to serve at the pleasure of the appointing Board member.

Terms of Appointment:

Appointments to the CAC shall be for a three-year term unless removed by the appointing Board Member. There is no limit as to the number of terms that a CAC member may serve on the Council.

Meeting Dates :

  • The CAC Executive Council meets the first Friday of every month.
  • The CAC General Assembly meeting meets the Wednesday before the Board meeting of every month.

All meetings are public meetings and follow the Ralph M. Brown Act requirements. All meetings are held at Metro Gateway Headquarters.

CAC Current Membership:

  • Dalila Sotelo, Chair
  • Hank Fung, Secretary
  • Seymour Rosen, Chair Emeritus
  • Tony Banash
  • Darrell Clarke
  • Michael Conrad
  • Russ Davies
  • Michael Kravitz
  • Bill Latto
  • Keith Martin
  • Jazmin Ortega
  • Anne Reid
  • Wally Shidler
  • Brandy Turnbow
  • Jerard Wright

For questions on the CAC please call 213.922.1249.

*CAC membership is on a voluntary basis and members do not receive stipends or compensation for serving on the council.

Agenda Audio Archives

Click here for the Board of Directors Meetings Audio Archive . Note: All audio files are .mp3 format .

Share this page on
Close Search Window

Search, The Source, and El Pasajero